This is my Negative Space Drawing consisting of a pattern based on watermelons. The color used are red, pink, yellow and orange that creates a warm, cute feeling to the piece. They are also analogous which makes the piece come together. The whole watermelons provided a circular shape while the sliced watermelons provided triangular shapes. The difference in shapes create a contrast between the repeating motifs. I believe with the back filled out the completely, the negative subject pops out. However, I think the negative space could take a larger area to make the piece more appealing. Speaking of position, with the negative space centered in the middle shows a balance with the background. It is also positioned upright to have a sense of formal balance.The movement in my piece is how the watermelons look like they're bouncing around. I added a reddish twig as a design element to create an extra motif.



Leave a Reply.